Tags

,

I’d like to start off by stating that I am not a doomsayer. I don’t believe that the world is going to end at midnight. I’m quite confident that the world will keep on spinning through space and that the problems we have today will still be there to greet us when we wake up, tomorrow. In short, it’ll just be another day.

Despite this rationale, my imagination can’t help but wonder what the end of days would be like. Moreover, the more I think about it, the more enthused about the whole idea I become. Not because I think this is a terrible world and it would just be better if it didn’t exist but because I’ve always enjoyed experiencing dangerous natural phenomena.

I don’t know what’s wrong with my life that I look forward to the next near-cataclysmic natural disaster to roll around.

As I was growing up I remember being fascinated by thunderstorms. I absolutely loved watching the flashes of lightning burning a crooked path through the atmosphere to the ground, instantly turning night into day. I loved feeling the rumble of thunder wash through me and rattle everything nearby. Eventually I was treated to my first hurricane and that was even more exciting. I was never in any real danger (at least I don’t think I was) as I watched the tops of trees pitch from side to side violently in the strong winds. If the power were to go out, well, that was just icing on the cake as navigating about in pitch blackness was a fun challenge.

I enjoyed these things to the point that I would completely ignore disaster preparedness as I got older. Canned food? Batteries? Toilet paper? PSHAW! I need not your modern conveniences!

When I experienced my first earthquake, wow. It was incredible. I remember seeing tall buildings shake from side to side and their glass walls turn into rippling sheets of water. Of course, I still have some sense of self-preservation so I made a dash to what I thought was a safe place after reveling in the awesomeness of the earthquake.

I remember thinking to myself

Wow. That was an earthquake? That was fantastic! I hope we get an aftershock. Why am I still shaking?

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little disappointed in the earthquake. When I first noticed the rumbling my eyes immediately looked towards the water. I was honestly holding my breath and waiting for Godzilla to rise up and start smashing buildings and wrecking civilization. When I realized it was just an earthquake I felt my heart sink a little.

I am serious. I actually thought that the only way this earthquake could be “better” is if it was only the prelude to a giant monster attack.

